Essel Karnataka's Best TV Award presented

Press Release

Bangalore, Dec 22: The Essel Karnataka's Best Television Award was presented to Ms Sushma K. Rao, well known television actress for her performance in Guptagamini, in Bangalore on December 21, 2007. Ms Sushma K. Rao was selected by the people of Karnataka as their choice through tele-voting from among the five winners shortlisted by the Jury.

The other winners are: Mr Achyutha Kumar H.K.(Best Actor, Manthana, ETV); Mr M.N. Jayanth (Best Director, Sahagamana, Kasturi), Naku Thanthi (Best Serial,  Udaya TV), and Raaga Ranjini (Best Reality Show, ETV).

Special Awards were conferred on three personalities in recognition of their long standing contribution to the industry. They are: Mr S. N. Sethuram (Script Writing); Ms Aparna N ( Anchoring) and Radhika Rani K ( News Casting, TV 9).

"The television awards are the twelfth in the series of monthly awards instituted by the Essel Group in Karnataka. Initiated in January 2007, the Group has so far recognized significant contributions by individuals and institutions to various fields," said Dr M. Gautham Machaiah, Vice President, Corporate and Public Affairs, Essel Group and Zee Network.

The Jury headed by Justice R. Ramakrishna, Retired Judge, Karnataka High Court (Chairman) comprised: Ms B. Jayashree, Theater Personality and Singer; Mr. G.S. Kumar, News Editor, The Times of India, Mr Lakshmana Kodase, Assistant Editor, Prajavani; Dr. Sa.Shi. Marulaiah, Eminent Writer; Dr. R.Poornima, Editor, Udayavani; Mr V.N. Subba Rao, President, Karnataka Media Academy; Mr B. Suresha, President, Karnataka Television Association and Ms Vinaya Prasad, Cine Star.

Printed from